NARPO – The voice of retired police officers
NARPO – The voice of retired police officers

Welcome to the Gwent branch of NARPO

About Gwent Branch

The Gwent Branch of NARPO consists of members from both the former Newport Borough Police Force and the Monmouthshire Constabulary. These two forces amalgamated in April 1967 forming the Gwent Constabulary, now known as Heddlu Gwent Police.

The County of Gwent is a preserved policing county situated on the Welsh border, adjoining the South Wales and Dyfed-Powys policing areas. It is reached on its eastern border by the two Severn Bridge Crossings and is sometimes referred to as the ‘Gateway to Wales’.

We now have just over 800 members comprised of full members, life members, associate members and widows. We would love to see those who have recently retired become NARPO members and get involved in our social events, which include quizzes, hog roasts, weekend breaks, coffee mornings and afternoon teas etc.

The quarterly Branch magazine keeps members up to date with various issues, both local and national. We are also fortunate to have the services of trained welfare representatives who are members of the Branch.


Branch Committee

The NARPO Gwent branch committee members are:

Chair: Jeff Mapps
Vice Chair: Jeff Smith
Secretary: Sandra Evans
Treasurer: David Moses
Welfare: Haydn Dewar
Welfare: John Metcalfe

Our general committee members are Ian Volpe, John Guy, Viv Williams, Lois Williams, Susan Dewar and Tony Pitt and Dave Palmer.

How to Contact Us

For any further information, please contact the Gwent Branch secretary, Sandra Evans at: