NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PART 2 MINUTES

Date of Meeting Thursday 5th September 2024

Time: From 1130am to 1230pm

Venue Hampton by Hilton Hotel, Torquay

Minute Taker CEO Alan Lees

Quorum Yes

Chair Richard Critchley

Attendance

Members

Name	Position	Present (P)/Apology (A)
Mr. R. Bird		P
Mr. J. Birkenshaw		P
Mr N. Burrows		P
Mr. R. Critchley	Chairman	P
Mr. B. Haley		P
Mr. P. Hayes		P
Mr. D. Jeans		P
Mr. R. Jones		P
Mr. M. Judson		P
Mr B. Mabbutt		P
Mr R. Michaelides		P
Mr. K. Moore		P
Mr C. Morgan		P
Mr. A. Orchard		P (Teams)
Mrs. K. Rowley QPM	Vice Chairman	P
Mr. P. Van Tromp		P
Alan Lees	Chief Executive Officer	P
Steve Wilcock	Deputy Chief Executive	P
Richard Atkinson	Financial Controller	P (Teams)
Sophie Maxwell- Clayton	Marketing Manager	A

Observers-

Name	Position
Mr. A. Ramiz	North Sussex Branch

1. Welcome by Chair

Richard Critchley welcomed Members to the meeting.

2. Attendance

3. Apologies

4. Declaration of Interests

None

5. Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman

RC was proposed by RJ and seconded by NB for the role of Chairman. This was unanimously agreed. KR was proposed by BM and seconded by NB for the role of Vice Chairman. This was unanimously agreed.

6. Finance

- To approve the retention of: Unity Trust Bank Plc, Birmingham Signatories To approve cheque/electronic banking signatories The Chairman, The Vice Chairman The Chief Executive and The Deputy Chief Executive a combination of any two. **Approved**
- To approve the retention of our current accountants Parsons of 2 Silkwood Office Park, Fryers Way, Wakefield WF5 9TJ Approved
- To approve the retention of: Evelyn Partners, London Trustees: The Chairman, The Vice Chairman and The Chief Executive Approved
- Rule 21 [3] Financial Controls
 - All payments exceeding an amount from time to time to be determined by the NEC must be authorised in writing by the Urgent Business Sub-Committee £10000 Approved
 - The limit on a single item of expenditure, delegated to the Chief Executive shall be determined annually by the NEC and shall not be exceeded by making a number of payments each of which is within the prescribed limit. £10000 **Approved**

• Stationery and IT Allowance £300 for those with an NEC provided laptop and £400 for those without an NEC provided laptop. It was proposed and moved by the Directors that this allowance will increase annually in line with the September CPI. The allowance will be paid in October after the CPI announcement.

7. Sub Committees and other representations

To appoint the various NEC committee members to various functions:

- Secretariat- Nick Burrows, Bob Mabbutt, Kevin Moore, Phil Van Tromp, Robin Michaelides, Richard Critchley
- Conference Kate Rowley, Angela Calvert, Sophie Maxwell, Melissa Colbeck, Deputy CEO
- Welfare Brian Haley
- Deputy Welfare Phil Van Tromp
- Training Brian Haley
- Deputy Training Richard Bird, Richard Jones, Paul Hayes
- Rules and Constitution- Richard Bird, John Birkenshaw, Bob Mabbutt, Mark Judson, Allen Orchard
- Finance President, Vice President, CEO and DCEO
- Internal Auditor- Nick Burrows
- Age UK Kevin Moore
- Wales Seniors Forum- Paul Hayes and Richard Jones

8. Presidents out of pocket expenses

in Cut

- Previously £750 **Approved**
- 9. Any other urgent and non controversial business
- 10. Date of Next Meeting
 - 2pm Wednesday 13th November 2024, Hilton Garden Inn Luton North

Signed

R Critchley

Chair

Date 13th November 2024